The end of Google Reader and me (sorta) not panicking about it

Don't panic.

Don’t panic.

It’s funny how in the same 12 months that I got into using RSS on a regular basis that Google have announced an end to Google Reader on 1 July 2013. Back when the Olympics were on I had been desperate to get hold of something that could display news in a newspaper/newsy like way and had been steered towards Feedly, which pulls your RSS subscriptions from Google Reader.

Despite the title – I’m sure that you can imagine how the initial news about the end of Google Reader drove me into a slight panic this morning as I wondered what the heck I was going to do. Would I be able to find an alternative to both Google Reader and Feedly, etc, etc…

Well, there was no need for my brief few seconds of panic. The Feedly devs had already been planning for the demise of Google Reader (according to Google, the service has been seeing less and less use and that’s why they’re shutting it down). And their preparations have led to the creation of the “Normandy“.

Normandy Mass Effect 3

I like to think that maybe, just maybe, someone on the Feedly dev team is a huge Mass Effect fan and has named their solution after the Normandy ships that appear in the ME franchise. ‘Cause that would be kind of cool, “last hope for RSS/humankind etc…”

There are many reasons why I’ve stick with Feedly since last year’s Olympics, including:

  1. It’s cloud based
  2. Has versions for browsers plus iOS and Android devices
  3. The newspaper look
  4. Has a more traditional RSS feed view as well
  5. Some nice social media sharing integration

Other alternatives to Feedly have been mentioned on Twitter, such as NewsBlur, and there’s a piece over on Lifehacker that features other alternatives to Google Reader, from cloud to desktop.

Regardless of where you end up getting your RSS needs serviced, closer to Google Reader’s demise or before you fully commit to a new service, I recommend backing up your subscriptions via the Google Takeout service, which is explained and linked to here.

4 thoughts on “The end of Google Reader and me (sorta) not panicking about it

  1. I do not not agree with Google’s decision to retire Google Reader either (I was using it the last few months instead of using Firefox to read RSS feeds from the Bookmarks Toolbar), but, c’est la vie!

    If you have not already, you might want to check out the latest Hitler meme to this news 😀 :

    Thank you for mentioning some Google Reader alternatives Emily. 🙂

    Right now I am back to using Firefox again for RSS feeds. 😉

    • Yeah, I’d seen the Downfall video earlier yesterday after seeing it linked to on one of the FastCompany subsites. Whoever made it turned the vid round pretty fast.

      Is the Firefox one cloud based at all? I have a habit of using lots of computers/tablets/mobiles.

      • Yeah, that was fast. 😀

        Well, if you count/use Firefox Sync and/or Xmarks et cetera to backup your bookmarks, then I guess you could say so.

        It is simply using the Live Bookmarks feature to add RSS Feeds to Firefox (I add mine to the Bookmarks Toolbar), Firefox comes with a Latest Headlines RSS Feed there already on default (A BBC RSS Feed for news); and I like to add some extra news RSS feeds there as well.

        Screenshot:

        http://www.use.com/showoriginal.pl?set=ada51fc241d61230bfa2&p=1

        If you have Firefox set to show the Bookmarks Toolbar, you will see your feeds there & you can name them whatever you want, and you click the feed you want to read to view the list of current items in the feed.

        http://mozilla.gunnars.net/firefox_bookmarks_tutorial.html#live_bookmarks

Leave a Reply

