Have been thinking more about music while writing a script

image

At the moment, I’m in the early stages of drafting a script for a webseries about a scientist who learns too late to be careful what he wishes for. I’m also the director and it’s the first time I’ve been in this writer-director dual role.
This means that I’m thinking way more about the visual style of the series, but also what happens with the sounds and music. I’m really thinking about what can be conveyed through using certain types of instruments and tunes. But when I started on this project with Paul – I wasn’t thinking about any of this soundscape stuff.

However, I rewatched Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark a few weeks ago and for the first time I really, really listened to not only the film’s score, but the film’s overall soundscape. And there were some interesting things going on – like the sounds that would be used when something definitely supernatural was going on.

I’m not saying that I’m going to be emulating the film exactly – but there are definitely things that sound can be used for in order to convey areas of narrative that aren’t too in your face. ‘Cause that’s one thing a good use of sound can do on a production – convey information in a subtle, yet effective way.

The series will be coming out later this year.

Leave a Reply

