My Game of the Year – 2012 edition

I am pleased with this outcome.

Who wins?

Because I’ve noticed that Johnny Cullen has decided to discuss his Game of the Year, I have decided to follow suit. I am copying him. This is, of course, different from my top games of all time list. So, without further ado…

I’m not going to do a top ten list, with number one being my GOTY. First, of all the new games I’ve played this year that have been released in 2012, I’m going to tell you which aren’t my GOTYs. These are all games that I’ve either completed or spent a reasonable portion of time with. (I haven’t had the chance to play the likes of Dishonored or XCOM yet, hence why they’re not here.)

Prototype 2

Protoype 2

I’m actually quite a big fan of the first game, despite its tricky controls and repetitive missions  It was the characterisation of Alex Mercer that made me really enjoy that game. It’s sequel, however, only managed to improve on the controls and instead lumped players with a character that doesn’t develop properly and storyline way beneath the quality of the original game. Also – the missions were still way too repetitive.

Resident Evil 6

So...

Bought it on launch, played through with Paul and was extremely disappointed. We eventually completed it, but the poor camera, awful quick time events and imbalance for ammo in co-op meant that I enjoyed it less than Resident Evil 5 or 4.

Final Fantasy XIII-2

Why am I liking this game so far, why?!

I started out liking the game and I’m still not sure if I actually loathe it as much as Final Fantasy XIII, but I haven’t completed this sequel. It started to get way too bring with the repeated use of plot devices within the whole time travel set-up. And I just couldn’t bring myself to like the characters. Oh, and don’t ask me about what they did to the skills/abilities system.

(Pssst, I preferred Final Fantasy X-2.)

The Amazing Spider-Man

The Amazing Spider-Man game

I played this for review. I wasn’t impressed. Having liked the film and played a great deal of Prototype 2, the game felt like a toned down version of P2 with more puns then you can swing a dead cat at. Still, it’s not the worst movie, videogame tie-in ever – so at least there’s that.

Borderlands 2

Borderlands 2

I do not hate this game. I’ve actually loved what I’ve played of it so far (Paul and I haven’t completed it yet). However, it hasn’t grabbed me by my non-existent balls in anything near the way that my GOTY has. But certainly, this is my co-op GOTY.

Mass Effect 3

Mass Effect 3

The conclusion to one of the best trilogies of games ever… is not my GOTY. While the multiplayer was a nice surprise, BioWare’s response to outrage at the ending, from some, fans has coloured my relationship with this game. Also, I just don’t feel it was as good as Mass Effect 2 – sure the galaxy was on the brink, but that doesn’t mean we have to have extremely repetitive missions and chuck out having lots of conversations with consequences.

Spec Ops: The Line

Spec Ops The Line

One of the few games this year that truly moved me, Spec Ops: The Line was an astounding title in terms of the scope of its singleplayer storyline and the references it made to existing media texts. It was moody and exciting, balancing action and explorations of the mind and conscience… near enough perfectly. This was almost my GOTY. Regardless, you should check out my reading list on how to get the most from this game.

And finally…

The Darkness II – is my GOTY

Oh Jackie...

Having played this for review, I did find several flaws with the game, but it’s also the one that has stuck in my mind the most this year. While I had seriously enjoyed the original game, it was the second one that moved me to become interested in the comics the games are based on. But other than hating the lack of stealth – what did I like about this game so much? Well, the shift in graphical style, the relics, the characters and the story… a story that was perhaps too short, but has one of the best cliffhangers in a game ever. Read my full thoughts on the game here (warning: here be spoilers).

So, what’s your Game of the Year?

One thought on “My Game of the Year – 2012 edition

Leave a Reply

