Am I busy?

Probably busy.

At yesterday’s meeting of Cornwall Graphic Novel Group one of the guys remarked, just as everyone was leaving, that I always seem to be busy. What with organizing CGNG, the things I do for BeefJack, running the Nerds Assemble podcast every week.

Plus now learning to drive as well.

I think this is the busiest I’ve ever been, what with doing all of the above whilst having a full-time job as well. And I’m not entirely sure if I like being this busy or not.

What I like doing is organizing things and running things that people enjoy. This is especially why I like running CGNG and Nerds. While I may get some enjoyment from them, and I do, I like knowing that we get at least five people turning up to each CGNG meet in Loading and that on average, at least thirty people are listening to the Nerds Assemble podcast each week.

But now that someone has observed that I always seem to be doing a lot, I’m now wondering if maybe I’m doing too much. With all of the above I am also engaged in various writing activities. Plus I struggle to find time to play videogames or to read.

So, am I too busy? Well, a lot of what I do outside of my paid job is also stuff (not CGNG) that I hope will some day help me out in what I really want to do with my life: write fiction – be it comics, novels, films or TV series.

And another thing: learning to drive is actually also about giving me back some of my free time, not just getting me to the office. Not having to rely on public transport in the future will free-up a great deal of my time.

I may be busy, but I think I like it.

Leave a Reply

