One little problem with Game Dev Story

This game is so addictive…

This weekend I “completed” Game Dev Story it was an unusual journey for me in the end – one where I was introduced to parodies of consoles and videogames that I’ve never had the chance to experience having gotten into gaming around the height of the Gameboy Color’s popularity. But there was so much I felt the game was missing out on, and one of these was its length.

Yes, I know it’s a game for mobile devices, but I feel that its final main console release – the Wii – was a tad unfair. It would have been nice to have had the full set: Wii, Xbox 360 and PS3. In fact, it could have parodied itself with including mobile gaming as well. But it didn’t.

So without extending the number of consoles available to be a little more current, it did feel like the game was too short. Now, I could have extended play further by going through the ridiculous hoops needed to get a hardware engineer and thus make my own console – but I think it should have been possible to hire one on for stupid money once the Wii had been released.

Okay, in the end I enjoyed the game, but some parts fell short of my expectations. I’m unsure yet if I’ll have a go at any of Kariosoft’s other Story games.

UPDATE

One thought on “One little problem with Game Dev Story

Leave a Reply

