Skyrim patch 1.7 rolls into town, I give up caring

Patch 1.7 does nothing for me.

Since I got my hands on Skyrim last Christmas, I’ve been keeping an eye out for Bethesda’s patch updates for the game and checking out what bugs and fixes they’ve fixed with each patch. My lowdown on 1.6 is here.

Reading the glitches the patch is meant to deal with over on the Beth Blog is nothing but a source of disappointment for me. It just seems like they don’t care about fixing any of the many buggy quests that I encountered on my previous, extensive playthroughs of the game. The fixes in 1.7 are:

  • General memory and stability optimizations
  • Fixed crash related to new water shaders
  • Fixed rare crash related to dragon landings
  • Fixed logic error with loading screens from add-ons (Xbox 360)
  • Using vampiric grip and swimming no longer prevents swimming animation from playing afterwards
  • Improved recognition with Kinect voice commands (Xbox 360)
  • Kinect-enabled dragon language shouts for French, German, Italian and Spanish work properly (Xbox 360)
  • Fixed issue with Dawnguard Kinect-enabled dragon shouts for French, German, Italian and Spanish (Xbox 360)

As someone who has encountered some nasty glitches in a few main and sub quests, this really makes me feel disappointed that nothing is being done. Most of the bugs I’ve encountered are described in earlier posts like this one on 1.5.

At this point I have perhaps given up caring. I haven’t played the game since May and I haven’t bought the Dawnguard DLC.

However, I recently re-purchased Morrowind in the Steam sale. There’s a greater chance of me playing that again then getting interested in Skyrim seriously once more.

6 thoughts on “Skyrim patch 1.7 rolls into town, I give up caring

  1. This is peculiar. I’ve been replaying on PC with a load of mods and not come across any bugs yet. I’ve come across a few dead characters who have randomly met their end (I’m thinking wolves or dragons), but mine’s been pretty solid.

    • It’s just so unstable on Xbox 360, which is what I’ve been playing on. I thought what I experienced in New Vegas was bad, but this has taken glitches to all new highs.

      • Yep, I am not sure if I can get myself to really even play or seriously play Skyrim again, and I definitely probably will not waste money buying any of the DLCs; maybe they will do better on the next Elder Scrolls game and/or The Elder Scrolls Online, if not, it is time to find another franchise. 😉 (If only the Chrono games (Chrono Trigger & Chrono Cross) could be re-made/continued 😦 )

  2. I still have not started back playing Skyrim again, I recently played and beat Saints Row & Saints Row 2 for the first time, have you tried playing Skyrim again Emily?

Leave a Reply

