EVE update #3 – what kind of player do I want to be?

Still messing around with the demo.

Last night I spent about an hour on the game. Due to my current physical state, this was all I could manage. I completed the second mission for the first business agent you’re introduced to after the main tutorials.

Though it did take me a while to complete this mission, my most in-depth one so far and I’ve hardly scratched the surface of this damn game. And when I mean a while, I mean most of the hour I spent on the game. Part of the problem for me is that setting my ship up before I go on missions has yet to come naturally to me. I was given some salvaging equipment by the agent and hadn’t realised that I’d forgotten to equip it to my ship until I’d taken the four jumps necessary to get near the deadspace I was meant to be exploring and then gone on to the deadspace itself.

I fought another ship, went to recover the black box I was meant to be salvaging and discovered that I hadn’t brought the kit I needed to complete the task. With the amount of travel time involved in getting back to the base with the kit and then going back out to that patch of deadspace and then returning to the agent base…

“Real time” travel is perhaps a tad excruciating. I can deal with the skills leveling up in real time, but travel is… painful.

But then this is the first time I’ve played a proper MMO and I’m not about to let last night’s experience put me off from trying the demo a bit more.

As to the title of this post: I’m perhaps a little saddened that making the choice of “Artist” as one of my background traits doesn’t appear to be careers that are related to it. I currently seem to be heading towards either business or industry at the moment, but I’m not sure.

How close am I to coughing up some cash? As I said to Joe last night:

5 thoughts on “EVE update #3 – what kind of player do I want to be?

  1. Thanks for the update Mrs. Emily, I need to look at some game-play videos of this game on YouTube or something, so I can get a better idea of what this game is about/like. 😉

Leave a Reply

