EVE update #1 – power plugs are not your friend

These fictional space ships move faster than my existing broadband connection.

As I said yesterday, I was going to give a certain MMO a go. So, last night I began downloading the demo of EVE Online via Steam and this morning I was still downloading it. Over 8 gigs of data was trying to be squeezed through my crud connection.

And it would have finished downloading the demo last night if it hadn’t been for one minor detail. One very minor detail… At some point between getting home from The Avenegers/Avengers Assemble last night and going to bed… the power supply to my laptop was turned off at the socket.

Of course when I woke up this morning, I thought something terrible had happened to my laptop, what with the blank, unresponsive screen and all. Thankfully, it didn’t take me long to realise that power had been disconnected.

There wasn’t too much left, about three hours worth of data, when I left for work this morning. Hopefully I can start playing the demo tonight.

2 thoughts on “EVE update #1 – power plugs are not your friend

  1. 😀 Hehehe, hopefully you will get a chance to start trying Eve Online soon, I never played that game before so I can not offer any advice. 😉

  2. Good luck with your power. And good luck with EVE online. An amazing game but with quite a few challenges for beginners. It has – sometimes rightly so- a reputation to be cruel and brutal. But at the same time, it has an extremely helpful community of fiercely loyal players.

    My advice to total newbs, first week, ignore all other players. Many idiots prey on newbs with not-obvious tricks to steal their stuff or kill them for “lolz”. Use the “help” channel to ask questions but never let anyone invite you to a fleet for example. Once you got the hang of the basics, find out what you want to do and find a “corp”. You never find a game with more malicious and mean players and more helpful and loyal ones. Good luck and if you have questions, contact me in game “Epigene”. But then again, how could you trust me 😉

Leave a Reply

