Cornwall Graphic Novel Group touches down – plans for the future

It took me two days, but I got there in the end.

Earlier this week I decided that I wanted to put together a website on the cheap for the graphic novel group. Knowing that WordPress charges for the use of custom URLs if you try to do it through wordpress.com, I instead went to Tumblr, who don’t currently charge. The image you see above is my effort of putting the new Cornwall Graphic Novel Group website together on Tumblr and it cost me less than £25 in the end.

Having previously said that maybe I was addicted to making Tumblr blogs, this is the first one I’ve been serious about – after all, I’ve spent money sorting out a domain and buying a reasonably priced theme. I even spent time designing a header image that mimics the only branding that the group has ever really had.

On a different, but related note, I realised this week that last month was the group’s first anniversary. And we haven’t done a thing about it… yet. I think in the coming months, I’m going to see if perhaps I can get some more local coverage for the group to encourage new people to come along to our monthly meet and maybe see if we can team up a particular store in order to do something special over the summer.

Meanwhile, if you’re in Falmouth this coming Saturday (28th April) around 2pm, then please pop along to Loading for this month’s meeting. We’ll be discussing Superman: Earth One.

Leave a Reply

