Mass Effect 3 multiplayer is actually good, colour me surprised

I didn't want multiplayer in the series in the first place.

How times change. Having previously proclaimed a great level of wariness in approaching Mass Effect 3’s multiplayer, this past weekend found me more than pleasantly surprised. In fact, I was impressed to a degree I wasn’t even expecting.

As I previously explained, I wasn’t too keen on the idea of multiplayer in Mass Effect 3. And then last Sunday, I finally relented and started giving it a go. Having never played a multiplayer game where you get to customise and upgrade your character/loadout I cannot compare it to stuff like the more recent Call of Duties and various other FPS titles. All I had to compare it with were Valve’s offerings: the Left 4 Dead games and Team Fortress 2.

Being able to customise my character and keep said customisations when a game ended was so novel to me that I think that in of itself is what has really sold me on the mode. I loved being able to develop my characters’ abilities to almost the same degree as Shepard in the main game.

While there’s only a handful of maps at the moment, the enemy AI was always keeping things interesting. I now have ingrained in my memory a moment when a Banshee and a Brute blocked my exit from a corridor, with one either side of me. I ran at, blasted and Warped the Brute into submission before running backwards and finishing off the Banshee before she could kill me.

And it’s nice to be playing co-op all the time. It’s why I love games like Left 4 Dead and Team Fortress 2. I like being in a team.

One thought on “Mass Effect 3 multiplayer is actually good, colour me surprised

Leave a Reply

