Re-reading A Game of Thrones

image

I’ve ended up re-reading George R. R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones, as I’ve forgotten all that’s happened (pretty much) in all the books prior to A Dance with Dragons, which I bought on release and haven’t read yet.

I’m really enjoying it so far. I’m noticing the default back stabbing nature of most of the characters far more than I previously did, plus the foreshadowing. So far I’ve read half of the first novel this week.

I’ll admit that I still haven’t watched the HBO adaptation of the first novel. I probably will some time, but with no access to Sky and no desire to pirate it, I’ll be waiting until I have the cash spare so that I can buy it.

In some ways, reading A Game of Thrones is a welcome reprieve from playing Skyrim. I’ve found that Skyrim has a lot less of the political involvement of the previous two Elder Scrolls games, despite having a civil war. But it’s not like I’m expecting the same level of intrigue as you may find in the Song of Ice and Fire.

It’s kind of making me wonder what the RPG of A Game of Thrones is going to be like. It’s currently in development for PC, PS3 and Xbox 360 at Cyanide…

Leave a Reply

