Not reassured by new details regarding Alan Wake’s American Nightmare

Mr Scratch.

You know how I posted yesterday that I wasn’t too enthralled by the looks of the new Alan Wake’s American Nightmare trailer? Well, an interview with Remedy CEO Matias Myllyrinne turned up on VG247 today. I’m even more worried now.

Myllyrinne seemed really enthusiastic about what was happening with American Nightmare, but to me it’s because of all the wrong reasons. In a way, I think what I’m feeling is how certain fans of Resident Evil felt betrayed by the change from survival horror to action game that came in with Resident Evil 4. Then again, I’m more concerned about where the focus is shifting between story and action. Myllyrinne said:

“If Alan Wake was two-thirds story and one-third action, American Nightmare is one-third story and two-thirds action.”

This pretty much confirms the fears that I expressed yesterday. I’m still going to end up playing it, regardless on the info that’s coming out at the moment, but I can’t help but wonder if it would have been better to go for a 50-50 approach. That way the game would technically be balanced, which in theory would work well for everyone.

Here’s the trailer again:

The XBLA only game is meant to be releasing in the first quarter of next year. Excuse me while I go and cry in a corner.

Leave a Reply

