I can only watch the extended versions of The Lord of the Rings films these days

O hai there Gandalf.

This weekend saw the tenth anniversary of the UK premiere of The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring. By happy coincidence, I have been slowly watching the extended versions of all three films whilst carrying out a long running knitting project.

In some ways, when I originally saw all three films over the course of three years, I wish that my local cinema had shown the extended versions. Then again, considering that cinemas in the UK don’t tend to offer intervals anymore – I’d rather watch the extended versions in my own home.

They may be incredibly long, and having access to the DVD versions means that each film has two discs, but to me it is well worth it. For instance, it is only in the extended version of The Two Towers that we learn fully of Aragorn’s background and that he is in fact 87 years old by the time of this film.

And it is little things like that which it is a shame to miss when you watch the regular versions of the films, which also happen to be what tends to be aired on TV. The extended versions are also excellent entertainment to have on while knitting. I’ve almost finished the back of the first jumper I’ve ever knitted while watching the first two films.

Did I mention that the LoTR films also put me in mind of Christmas? Went to see all of them as post-Christmas Day family cinema trips, which is probably why I have such an association in my mind.

Now seriously looking forward to The Hobbit film being released.

4 thoughts on “I can only watch the extended versions of The Lord of the Rings films these days

  1. “They may be incredibly long, and having access to the DVD versions means that each film has two discs”

    Sadly, even the blu ray extended edition is the same. Each film runs over two discs in order to hold the commentaries. Also, all the extras discs are the exact same DVDs as from the standard extended editions 😦

Leave a Reply

