I felt so underwhelmed and bored today that I decided to start learning Python

I put together a simple program that could count to 100.

I actually started the day playing The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, but I was in a funky mood and soon tired of playing it. When I’ve completed another temple, I’ll probably do another “day in Hyrule” post. In the meantime, I decided to start teaching myself Python in what felt like a hunger to fill my brain with something kind of useful.

After all, it’s not like I got taught anything akin to programming languages when I studied for an ICT GNVQ. In a way, I’m making up for some deprived school years.

So far, I’ve done two things that I’m proud of. I figured out from a basic Python tutorial, that’s actually meant to eventually teach you how to mod Civilization IV, how to put together a simple program that counted from 0 to 100. The counting one was of my own creation, I used bits and pieces from the tutorial in order to figure out how to do it and I’m more proud of it than I probably should be.

The second thing I did was looked into putting together a simple calculator program. And that went okay. I was informed by a friend that Python’s specialty is lists, but now that I’ve reached that part of the tutorial I feel like everything is just going over my head, though this could just be because I’m tired now.

I will probably continue with this self-teaching though I’m unsure what I hope to eventually achieve other than making myself feel a little less bored on a cold stormy day. Hmm, maybe I’ll make a simple game.

Leave a Reply

