On having to draw my own storyboards

I am crap at drawing.

As with so many things in my life, people expect me to help them, but when I need help they aren’t anywhere to be found. So, I have resorted to storyboarding the parts of Displaced that have been written so far.

I’m pretty crap at drawing normally, so the fact that the storyboards for my graphic novel are more for showing – whichever artist I may finally side with – how I want pages and panels laid out, means that I don’t need to be too detailed or worried about quality. Still, it’s a pain in the ass when you draw a page wrong and have to redo it. Its also a little embarrassing when this is all you can manage.

This current state of affairs has happened after Paul managed to convince me that I might as well draw the storyboards myself, because it won’t get done otherwise. I’ve only drawn five pages since yesterday, but the two above have been the most involved so far. Paul bought me a sketchbook and some drawing implements to facilitate this endeavour and I’ve been reading the script via my Kindle.

I think the reason why I’m showing this off to the world is to in part to show that a) I haven’t given up on my graphic novel yet and b) I have been let down by too many people. The second point is particularly annoying due to the fact that I help a lot of people, as I said at the beginning of this post, but when I need help no one wants to help me or can’t be bothered to do so.

I’m now off to play something that isn’t Skyrim, as I have to wait until Christmas before I’ll have a chance to play the game.

One thought on “On having to draw my own storyboards

  1. If it’s any consolation, I have exactly the same problem – I go out of my way to help neighbours and friends, but since I’ve been ill and may need a return favour, everyone has disappeared!

    And your drawings have a certain charm 🙂

Leave a Reply

