The Creepy House (helping my little brother with his homework i.e. writing a poem)

Brothers who draw pictures of dinosaurs for you deserve help with their homework.

I only went round to my parents today so that my Mum could drive me to a supermarket. Yet, as soon as I was in their house, Mum asked if I could help out with littlest brother’s homework for the week. You do an English with degree and a Masters of Arts in Professional Writing and people think you’re a poetical genius even though you’ve only ever specialized in scriptwriting. With the theme of “spooky Halloween” the homework was supposedly simple: write a poem. But it’s not really simple. Really not.

So, I sat down with little bro and got him to write a list of creepy and spooky things. Once we had a list, we had a look at it and picked out a few things to include in the poem. Next up was to figure out the kind of style to go for. Now, with the theme being “spooky Halloween”, I decided we needed to find some Edgar Allan Poe, which we did. Bringing up The Raven on a browser, I had a quick glance at the style and figured we could pay homage to it in some way.

In the end, I helped my little bro write a poem that will probably be the only one in class that doesn’t rhyme, which is brilliant in my books. Here is our narrative poem:

The Creepy House

Once upon a moonlit All Hallow’s Eve night,
I ambled by an empty house.
“That house is creepy,” I thought,
“Dark and shadowy where it stands.”

An owl hooted at the night,
I started to jog past the house.
“That house is creepy,” I thought,
“Dark and shadowy where it stands.”

The front door creaked open unto the night,
I stopped jogging away from the house.
“That house is creepy,” I thought,
“Dark and shadowy where it stands.”

A rat scrambled out into the night,
I gasped at the empty house.
“That house is creepy,” I thought,
“Dark and shadowy where it stands.”

Once upon a moonlit All Hallow’s Eve night,
I ran away from an empty house.
“That house is creepy,” I thought,
“Dark and shadowy where it stands.”

===

I had little bro copy it out into his homework book and then stuck a print off of it in there. If it doesn’t get marked, I will be unimpressed with his primary school teacher.

Leave a Reply

