My ideal Halloween

The pumpkin I carved for my little brother yesterday.

Halloween – or the weekend before it – usually sees me trooping off to a Halloween party. Despite plenty of invites, I haven’t done that this year as, until half-an-hour ago, I was busy working on a script (The Melancholy of Agatha Sue). The script is now done and dusted until anyone has any interest in it.

Now, what do I do with myself now that I have the rest of Halloween to look forward to when I’ve already carved a pumpkin? What is my ideal Halloween when I’m too emotionally drained to leave the house?

  1. Carve a pumpkin. Did that yesterday.
  2. Watch scary things.
  3. Read scary things.
  4. Write scary things. I’ve just spent the last week writing. So not gonna happen.
  5. Play scary things.

Yeah, the three activities I haven’t scrawled out are all manageable. I’ve got a bunch of horror films in the house, plus the first season of The Walking Dead to get through on Blu-ray.

If I was going to watch five particular films today, they would be:

The Thing (1982)

Dawn of the Dead (1978)

From Dusk Till Dawn (1996)

Videodrome (1983)

and

Pumpkinhead (1988)

What about reading scary things? I happen to have a great big hard back copy of Necronomicon: The Best Weird Tales of H.P. Lovecraft: The Best Weird Fiction of H.P. Lovecraft that I could read a bit from. I’ve also got a whole bunch of Stephen King lurking on my Kindle.

And when it comes to playing scary videogames, I’ve got all the Resident Evils lurking in the house, a bunch of the original Silent Hill games, the original Dead Space needing a replay, Amnesia The Dark Descent also needs to be played more…

One little odd thing I did do today, that’s Halloween related, is I booted up Batman: Arkham City so that I could go and have a chat with Calender Man. And he does have some seasonal tales to tell. He told me a lovely Hallow’s Eve tale and then went back to pottering around in his cell… and you know what? This reminded me that I need to play even more Arkham City if I’m going to give the video review I’m meant to be doing for Kill/Screen any justice.

Well, Arkham City is pretty Gothic and creepy. So, I’m gonna go and hit up some game plus on Arkham City. And later on, I’m going to treat myself to some more Walking Dead while knitting.

I know how to live on the wild side. I really, really do.

Leave a Reply

