Attempting to use Microsoft speech recognition software has been a bit of a pain

It is not going to plan.

My continuing trials with my shoulders means that I have been trying to use the speech recognition software that Microsoft bundled with Vista and also appears in Windows 7. In fact I am typing this very blog post using Microsoft’s speech recognition software.

It hasn’t been going very well. Mostly because the software does not really work with third party programmes.  So I’m having to use Internet Explorer in order to type this. Annoyingly, what I really wanted to use this software for was working in Final Draft, however it hardly works with the program.  And considering that Final Draft is the main program that I need to use whilst my shoulders are bad with RSI, the fact that the speech recognition software that comes with Windows doesn’t work with Final Draft means that I am having some real problems trying to sort out the scripts I need to work on.

Yesterday, I managed to finish my first outline of my main script project at the moment.  However, it was written by hand and does need to be typed up, but it looks like I will have to narrate it into Notepad in order to have a chance of copying and pasting anything into Word or FD.

Why can’t technology work as you expect it to? Sigh.

4 thoughts on “Attempting to use Microsoft speech recognition software has been a bit of a pain

    • I have to admit that I don’t think speech recognition software would ever be of use for individuals with speech impediments, however, if you could get your hands on one of those head sets that can read brain waves and translate that to something on screen – then you may stand a chance.

    • It’s cool. It was a pretty sensible suggestion at the time. Anyway, Microsoft aren’t likely to want to advertise that it doesn’t work with a lot of stuff.

      Though it does make me want to get a newer version of Office. As it’s meant to work with it.

Leave a Reply

