I hate RSI, I hate it! (And being punched in the shoulder)

image

Since the weekend, I have been enduring the near crippling effects of repetitive strain injury (RSI) in my right shoulder and a bit in my left. This despite trying to follow best practice when it comes to how one sits at one’s laptop, etc.

The self inflicted world of pain I’m in is also the result of playing a lot of videogames lately. Despite best efforts to stop said activities resulting in pain.

At the moment I can’t use my laptop -this has been typed on my phone- and neither can I knit, game or carry heavy bags. I am not a happy bunny. I can just about write by hand which means I’m working on my current script idea in a notebook.

A friend has informed me that Windows should have some voice recognition software on it that will allow me to dictate to my computer instead of typing. I’m planning on getting Paul to help me set it up later. If it works then at least I’ll be able to get on with things hopefully.

There will be a trip to the GP soon, but all they’ll be able to do is put me on a waiting list for physio. This almost happened at the beginning of the year when my shoulders were last bad.

And being playfully punched in the shoulder does not help, which did happen during the filming of Kill/Screen yesterday. I now have a sling on back up.

The lesson here is that you should look after your limbs, but sometimes it doesn’t work.

One thought on “I hate RSI, I hate it! (And being punched in the shoulder)

Leave a Reply

