I may have issues with fans of the Game of Thrones TV series who haven’t read any of the Song of Ice and Fire the novels…

image

As the title may suggest, maybe, just maybe, I’ve got a problem with people who have suddenly become fans of Game of Thrones since the HBO version of the novels began airing. If they’ve gone on to read the novels, then I have no qualms with them.

Rather, it’s the many who’ve never heard of George R.R. Martin or A Song of Ice and Fire (the name of the novel series that Thrones comes from) – these are the ones that make me frown.

And I don’t like frowning. Really, I don’t.

A similar attitude stole over me during the course of the releases of the Harry Potter films. Even simpler to read than Martin’s epic fantasy series, the (in my eye) laziness of those who love adaptations, but never touch the source material… it just peeves me off.

In a way, it’s not that the series has become popular that annoys me, I’m fine with texts entering popular culture. It’s just the people who don’t acknowledge the awesome source material that happen to get me down.

It’s like a kind of weird sense of pop-cultural pastiche. Pastiche in that (sort of Fredric Jameson manner) you have groups of people knowing the phrase, “Winter is coming,” but they don’t truly know its source.

Sigh.

3 thoughts on “I may have issues with fans of the Game of Thrones TV series who haven’t read any of the Song of Ice and Fire the novels…

  1. I think the issue is more time, with that series of books. I for one enjoyed the TV series and would love to sit and read the books, but to devote so much time to one series is impossible (just the first five books come in at 3,936!). I would also say that this would go the same for many other fans that have picked up the TV show and loved it.

    If people point blank refuse to read them, then they deserve their head looking at. But, I can certainly understand any trepidation to it. I suppose it’s like Lord of the Rings. I know far too many people who claim that it’s their favourite film/trilogy and haven’t tried the books (Okay, the books are pretty awful, TBH, but that’s not the point).

    Anyway, yeah, long books are long.

Leave a Reply

