I can’t sleep without ear plugs

image

It may seem like a strange thing to confess, but it’s true. Sometimes I wish that I had that tank that Daredevil has in the film, the one that he sleeps in that’s filled with water.

My issue with noise when I sleep began around this time of year when I was 13 or 14. It was the night before starting the new school year and I was trying to get to sleep.

But I couldn’t sleep. The noise from the three ticking clocks that I had in my bedroom at that time – clocks that I’d had in my room for years – were getting to me. In the end, as dawn came, I removed all the batteries from the clocks in my room and finally fell asleep.

That’s how it started. Soon I could no longer deal with birds singing in the early hours. Yet it wouldn’t be until I was in university, with a baby brother at home who cried in the night, that I finally bought some ear plugs.

And so for many years I would only put some ear plugs in when I was at a friend’s or family members’ home and they had a clock or clocks where I was trying to sleep or when the dawn chorus would start or when my partner had a cold or was snoring. But now…

For the past six months I’ve been using ear plugs every night. I can no longer deal with the sound of even my own breathing when I try to sleep.

The funny thing is that I can randomly fall asleep in a room with a TV on with people talking or on a bus – places with lots of noise. I just can’t handle noises that fit a pattern.

In case you’re wondering, I can still hear “important” noises such as my alarm, fire alarms or people shouting. They just block out all the normal noises.

Man, I wish that I had Daredevil’s isolation tank.

2 thoughts on “I can’t sleep without ear plugs

  1. I’m the same! And I buy the same earplugs. Initially I was just using them on particularly noisy nights, but the same as with you it has gradually become something I use more and more often. I’m a bit worried that eventually I won’t be able to sleep at all without them. But yes I can fall asleep without them quite happily in front of the television, on the bus, on the beach… any time I’m not actually trying to go to sleep basically!

    • You have no idea how reassuring it is to find that I’m not alone in having this problem. At the same time, though, I really do wish that I didn’t have to use them.

Leave a Reply

