Started watching the Death Note anime

image

I’ve gotta be in the right mood to watch anime and Death Note has been a part of the Backlog for a long while. It’s been sitting on my shelf for quite some time.

While one particular acquaintance has been particularly fond of the anime and manga in the past… I hadn’t got round to touching the box set until today.

With Paul chilling out on the sofa, recovering from food poisoning, and the slightly bad taste of Observe and Report remaining (don’t ask) I felt like watching something very different. And it is different.

Maybe my perspective on it is a little out of whack to its original intended audience (beyond the cultural and social demographic issues). I’m finding the character of Light Yagami rather alarming, this is mostly due to how much I’ve read on serial killers and profiling. But he’s also very interesting.

Light’s mania is portrayed in a really convincing way. And it certainly leaves you wondering who to side with. While L is technically the politically correct character to side with, Light’s perspective is not without its draw.

Neon Genesis Evangelion was the last anime series to make me stop and think for a moment this much whilst watching an anime. I’ve only watched the first two episodes of Death Note so far. Think I’ll stick it out until the end.

One thought on “Started watching the Death Note anime

  1. Death Note is really awesome. It just gets better and better. I’ve been watching Naoki Urasawa’s Monster which is similar. It’s a bit older, but it’s still interesting.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

