Addicted to Closer (and it’s been going longer than Wow (not WoW)) – where I lay the blame at Trent Reznor’s singing voice

Cue one mesmerizing heart

About two and-a-bit months ago, I discussed how I was listening to Marilyn Manson’s song Wow quite a few maybe-unhealthy times a day. Not long after that blog post, however I soon ended up obsessed over another song, Nine Inch Nails’s Closer from the album The Downward Spiral. I am addicted to a song that is more than seventeen years old and was released when I was around seven.

Listening to this song has become one obsessive behaviour of mine. I’ll listen to it on my MP3 player on repeat – and I wasn’t doing that with Wow.

And listening to this song repeatedly in a day – it’s happening at levels that go beyond the previous obsession. Now, I’m quite happy to blame the sexy tones of Trent Reznor’s voice in this track. And I am blaming him.

Yes, I am probably addicted to this track, because it is this one single Nine Inch Nails song that perfectly exemplifies just how frelling sexy Trent Reznor’s voice is and thus makes it a kind of audio goodness that should probably only be sold in shops that are licensed to sell similar items of sexiness. Obviously the lyrical content raises similar issues, but it is the tone of Reznor’s voice in this song that I find so compelling.

Don’t worry, I’ll let you all know when I spend another two months listening to the same song every day.

One thought on “Addicted to Closer (and it’s been going longer than Wow (not WoW)) – where I lay the blame at Trent Reznor’s singing voice

Leave a Reply

