Waiting to hear back from a publisher about Displaced

Working cover for Displaced

Perhaps one  of the most agonizing parts of being a writer is waiting to hear back about your work. Be it an agent, production company – or in this instance a publisher – the wait can be a most painful experience to go through.

I’ve spent a lot of time waiting to hear back about things, from exam results to job offers, to pregnancy results when you know that you’re almost dying from appendicitis – but waiting to hear back about your own piece of writing is its own level of hell. Well, it would be hell if I believed that such a place existed.

The thing is, I’m luckier than a lot of writers in my position as I’ve had a great deal of contact with the particular publisher that’s deciding whether to go “yay” or “nay” to my graphic novel. And if they do say “yay” I know that I’ll have some rewrites and redrafting ahead of me – I’ve already discussed with them that it will most certainly be the case. (Basically, Displaced would need to be split into two parts, making it a six part series ‘un all if given the go ahead.)

I think it’s a good thing that I’ve got my trip to London MCM EXPO coming up this weekend – I need to be distracted right now. Really distracted.

Oh, and if the Displaced Facebook Page gets 50 Likes by Friday, I’ll be choosing one lucky Liker to receive a goody bag full of random stuff from MCM EXPO. So, if you haven’t liked it already… go on, do it and you might be like me when I found that I had won the tickets to the EXPO.

Leave a Reply

