Addicted to Wow (but it’s not World of Warcraft)

Cannot... stop... listening... to... this... song...

There are times when I can’t get enough of one particular song. The last two weeks have seen me playing Wow, by Marilyn Manson from The High End of Low, repeatedly on my MP3 player or when I’m working on my laptop. But it’s gone beyond how I normally listen to one track on a frequent basis.

I’m not sure if it’s possible to be addicted to a song. But if it is, then I’m addicted to this:

(Despite the comments on the YouTube discussion for this video, I think MM was working on a budget and was taking the piss as he often does.)

It’s not the most inspirational of songs ever written. One may label it the exact opposite.

But I can’t stop listening to it. I’m on at least six play throughs a day. I really do love most of Manson’s music, but even I know that this is getting a little ridiculous. It’s slowly been making it’s way into my creative writing rituals – I’ll listen it to a few times before I start plotting and working on stories in my notebook or just thinking about ideas and then I’ll move on to listening to other tracks either by Manson or other artists.

The first step is admitting you have a problem, right?

Leave a Reply

