Reading and playing about writers (a.k.a. playing Alan Wake at the same time as reading Salem’s Lot)

image

Purchasing decisions have conspired over this last week. I have ended up playing Alan Wake at the same time as my Kindle reading settling on Salem’s Lot.

This in of itself has given me a rather unintended (on the part of the developers) play experience as I make my way through the mysterious world of Alan Wake on my Xbox 360. With it’s numerous references to how Stephen King handles horror, and reading one of his horrors – it’s a heady intertextual experience.

The weirdness doesn’t stop there though. As I found when I read New Grub Street several years ago – reading about writers when you are one is a bizarre experience. Playing as a writer when you are a writer is also a confusing sensation – but strangely enjoyable too.

I haven’t finished either yet. However, they’ve inspired a horror idea of my very own and it doesn’t involve vampires or an animated darkness.

2 thoughts on “Reading and playing about writers (a.k.a. playing Alan Wake at the same time as reading Salem’s Lot)

Leave a Reply

