Off to a funeral tomorrow

image

A few years ago I spent a great deal of my time researching death and funerals in the UK. It was all for a book that I was planning to write part of during my Masters. But I gave up on writing the book for two reasons:

Firstly: I didn’t like how depressing talking about death was. Especially as how death is an industry in the West.

Secondly: the lecturer who was in charge of the unit kept pushing me towards a more religious, especially Christian, account of death and funerals. This is despite my research finding that many people were looking for a more secular or humanist approach to death, including myself as an atheist.

So what does this all have to do with the funeral I’ll be attending tomorrow? Well, it’s the second point.

And that’s all I will say on the matter this morning.

Leave a Reply

