Fashion horror

image

As I spend an unknowable number of weeks wearing Reef flip flops – because of destroying my heels using only trainers worn with socks whilst walking into town – I may seem like the last person who should be talking about fashion. But please do stick with me for a moment at least.

The last few years have left me feeling sick to the stomach whenever I walk into high street fashion outlets. This feeling of wanting to vom has mainly been caused by the return of some of the worst aspects of 1980s and early 1990s fashion.

The floral patterns appearing everywhere have been the main cause of these feelings of nausea. This morning was especially bad when I walked by one store with a female dummy wearing floral print jeans in the window.

When I was growing up in the 1980s and the early 1990s, I often refused to dress my Barbies and Cindys in the clothes often available for them, due to hating the styles that were around then. Floral prints and shoulder pads especially.

What did my dolls wear? Mainly fantasy outfits or ones relatives made for them.

Thankfully this summer looks set to return to some 1970s inspired fashion, which I can handle without feeling the need to vomit on shop floors.

3 thoughts on “Fashion horror

Leave a Reply

