Nerves

So my poster for Displaced got some attention from some locally based artists/illustrators and tomorrow I’m meeting up with a couple of them. I suspect they’re nervous about meeting me, but I know that I am definitely nervous about meeting them.

It’s not like I plan to get them to read the entire graphic novel there and then, but I will be taking a synopsis and a sample with me. My plan is to get them to talk to me about what they know about comics and graphic novels (as they’ve never been fully involved in drawing for the genre before) and find out if they have any influences or read them much to begin with. Then explain what my graphic novel is about.

I’m also aiming to show them the sample section to see if they understand the descriptions in it and thus do some basic character concept art based on that. It will be a true test to learn whether someone who needs to draw based off of the script can actually follow what I’ve got there.

And as if that wasn’t enough, I have got an appointment at the dentists in the morning before I meet them. So, currently I am unsure if I will be suffering some kind of shell shock when I meet them. In the worst case scenario, maybe I could just hold the samples in my hand and just nod to their questions…

3 thoughts on “Nerves

  1. Good luck with it – glad the posters worked! I get to find out whether all my posters have paid off tomorrow…. I doubt I’ll win but what I do know is that I’m going to need a drink!!! xxx

Leave a Reply

