How I write

Mr Manson pictured with a cat, borrowed from LA Weekly

Kind of inspired by my little explanation of How I knit, today I thought I would share with you the stuff that tends to get me writing creatively. Now, I’m not talking about the games writing I get up to or writing on here – this is about what inspires me to write when I’m working on scripts like the one for my graphic novel Displaced (formerly Look to the Skies).

Basically, I find it difficult to write fiction without music playing. And due to the nature of the stuff that I tend to write, this means that I listen to a lot of music that isn’t exactly the happy cheery sort. It’s not like texts such as Displaced are depressing, but there’s a lot of twisted stuff happening in it and so I tend to go with artists that take a rather “alternative view on life”. Cue a playlist filled with Marilyn Manson, Disturbed, System Of A Down, Rammstein, Nine Inch Nails and – to lighten things slightly – Muse and Madina Lake.

However, if I’m working my way through a particularly dramatic section in something then I will resort to The Dark Knight soundtrack as the scores on that are very epic and dramatic. Yes, very dramatic.

Oh yeah and yesterday I trudged around Tremough Campus, Woodlane Campus and half of Falmouth putting up copies of this poster:

Click on image for larger view

Work on third draft of Displaced is still in progress. Twisted ideas on how to improve it keep popping into my head.

Leave a Reply

