Satisfaction found

image

Since Monday’s blog, I have found some videogame based satisfaction. With twists and turns a-plenty: Deadly Premonition was more than I could have hoped for. And this was a game I asked for last Christmas, because I was having difficulty thinking of what to ask for.

I don’t want to spoil things for anyone who hasn’t played it who wants to, so I’m going to use broad strokes to describe why I liked this game so much. Broad strokes, Zach, broad strokes.

For the first time in a while, I was playing as a protagonist that I was eased into giving a damn about. If you ignore the controls, which are a tad un-refined, and forget about the un-optimised visuals – just focus on what happens in the game and you will be pleasantly surprised.

The game appears to be heavily influenced by the TV series Twin Peaks. With a touch of the games Silent Hill and Fahrenheit. And perhaps that gives you a level of understanding how wacky the game is. All with a Japanese touch of course, which becomes very apparent by the end.

The game truly took my breath away and left me on the verge of tears by its conclusion. It skillfully walks a fine balance between being zany, terrifying and beautiful. There are few games that have achieved this.

This isn’t meant to be a review. This is me encouraging 360 owners to go out and play this game. And if you don’t have a 360 – go borrow one.

Right, Zach?

P.S. To those who have played it through before, my Zach references are entirely necessary 😉

UPDATE: Just found the review over on BeefJack for Deadly Premonition that in part began my interest in the game. Thanks Matthew Lee for reviewing it in the first place.

Leave a Reply

