My Dad has a sense of humour (good to know)

He seriously chuckled at Captain Hammer.

Having already watched Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog on Friday evening, Sunday saw me take my DVD over to my parents’ house. And before we watched it together, I thought to myself, “Are they really going to get it?”

Well, I should not have doubted my Dad’s ability to understand this sort of affair. This is the same man who is quite happy with watching Monty Python, listening to the Bonzo Dog Doo-Dah Band or making up his own DIY pieces of home fixtures. He laughed in all the right places.

It was just my aunts and my Mum who appeared to struggle with what they were seeing and hearing. Which leads me to another observation: women from their generation, if they didn’t go to grammar school, really don’t seem to have much of a sense of humour when it comes to parodies or satire. There are other comedic shows or films they’ll laugh at, but they tend to be based far more on gags and slapstick. (At least, that’s what I’ve noticed with the limited female company I spend my time around and this should probably not be extrapolated to the entire female population over the age of 45.)

Regardless, it was fun watching it for the second time in less than a week.

4 thoughts on “My Dad has a sense of humour (good to know)

  1. I’ve never even heard of it, Em. Is it recent or an old film? Sounds like one we might like.

    It’s interesting what you’re saying about slightly older females and humour. I shall have to think about this one! 🙂

    • You raise a fair point.

      Let’s just say that my Father’s overall taste in music is far superior (IMO) to that of my Mother who likes far too much old and new pop than can be good for you.

Leave a Reply

