Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog

Neil Patrick Harris is awesome

So, I’d been aware of its existence for some time, but had never got round to watching it. This week, SuperRetroid finally convinced me that I should really get my hands on a DVD copy of this musical masterpiece. How did we end up talking about Dr. Horrible? Well, I did kind of mention my love of Once More, With Feeling this week.

One web order and prompt delivery later – last night Paul and I sat down and watched Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog for the very first time. It was 40 minutes of bliss.

It’s kind of sad that it was the product of Joss Whedon and others trying to cope with the fallout from 2007-2008 WGA writer’s strike. They could have sulked in a corner or picketed, instead they got creative. And I’m glad they did.

The three act structure that this “web mini-series” used is actually quite a good example of the three act structure. Well, I think it is.

A, but what about the music, the singing? Delightful. Fantastic. Superb. You see, I’m very picky about the “musicals” that I like. Dr. Horrible will now join the ranks of Rocky Horror Picture Show, The Little Shop of Horrors, West Side Story, Jerry Springer the Opera, Once More, With Feeling and (hopefully after next month) Avenue Q (got tickets to go see it) – as the “musicals” that I actually enjoy.

I haven’t watched the musical commentary on the DVD yet, but I’ve heard it’s good.

2 thoughts on “Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog

    • That is the natural reaction to reading or hearing anything about Neil Patrick Harris. Mind you, I do like the first Starship Troopers movie, and he’s hilarious in the two Harold & Kumar films.

Leave a Reply

