Doing Anything Tomorrow?

No sparklers for me this year

I think since all the health and safety stuff has become so prominent in the last eight years since my childhood seemed pretty much over, Bonfire Night holds nothing for me any more. Gone are the numerous fireworks displays that used be properly organised and hosted at local public spaces. I really can’t be bothered with it any more.

The political and religious origins of the whole thing also worry me. Whilst Guy Fawkes may have been a Catholic who tried to blow-up parliament and assassinate King James I, it’s not as if the people in power at the time of the Gunpowder Plot were exactly pleasant towards Catholics. In fact, neither was the general population of England, and if I remember correctly, Catholics had to worship in secret back then too. And when considered alongside the repression of Irish Catholics… yeah…

So, the origins of Bonfire Night trouble me deeply.

And what will I be doing tomorrow, rather than messing around with sparklers and the sports setting on my camera? I’ll be off across the River Tamar to a visit a good friend, that’s what.

Still I can’t get away from this, especially after V for Vendetta helped to ingrain it in my mind far more effectively than school ever did:

Remember remember the fifth of November
Gunpowder, treason and plot.
I see no reason why gunpowder, treason
Should ever be forgot…

2 thoughts on “Doing Anything Tomorrow?

  1. I’m avoiding the whole thing using curtains and horror films, because I don’t like things going bang.

    Err, but don’t ask me how it is that I can stomach horror films.

Leave a Reply

