Wedding Ideas

Might be a film themed wedding, but a NES cake would be awesome

Before we went to the wedding fair last weekend, my fiancé and I knew that we’d want a film themed wedding. The idea is that everyone comes to the wedding in costume as a film character no matter how mundane, but they need to be able to say who they’ve come as. This also means that as the groom and bride we get to dress up too.

But who do we go as? Well, after thinking about some rather unfeminine Ripley designs from the first two Alien films, I decided that I did want to end up wearing a dress on the big day, and a particular dress from a particular film.

Marion Ravenwood - Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark

While I don’t plan on it becoming so torn, and certainly hope that I won’t be besieged by snakes, I do want to wear that dress with the matching white shoes from the film. So quite the vintage look. I’m unsure if I’d grow my hair out again in order to have the same hairstyle.

Meanwhile, my fiancé is leaning towards going as Tony Stark a.k.a. Iron Man. Thinking maybe the Iron Man suite during the ceremony, followed by the suave Tony Stark look for the reception. Why not Indy? Well my fiancé doesn’t like the Indiana Jones films as much as I do, and I don’t think I could ever be as skinny as Pepper Potts from Iron Man.

Tony Stark is oh so suave...

As well as dressing up, all music at the wedding, including the first dance track, will have to be music that has featured in a film and/or on its official soundtrack. We’re unsure at this stage whether we’ll hire a DJ or sort things out ourselves as putting together a playlist for six hours with tracks that we’ll like may take some doing.

The wedding fair last weekend certainly reaffirmed the idea that we should set a budget for the whole event, once we have the basic prices sorted out: licensed premises; buffet; cake; clothes; decorations; celebrant (we’re having a humanist ceremony) and a little bit of transport. Plus we’ll probably want to somewhere for a honeymoon and along with the costs in that we’ll need to sort some other things too.

Yes, budgeting is important. And a date? No later than the end of July 2012 by the looks of things.

7 thoughts on “Wedding Ideas

Leave a Reply

