Step away from the microphone

ICP - Insane Clown Posse

Perhaps the scariest interview I have ever read, yesterday’s Guardian interview with long running foul-mouthed rappers Insane Clown Posse left me worried for not only their fans, but the reputation of moderate Christians everywhere. Being an ex-CofE atheist, I found their views alarming not only because I’m someone who does understand how we get rainbows, but also as someone who believes that domestic violence is never right.

As the interview points out, ICP being evangelical Christians is actually news to many (them originally “coming out” last year hadn’t hit the mainstream news in the US and UK until this year) – though some had suspected that something was up for quite some time. When ICP made the “announcement”, quite a few of their fans were pissed and general public reaction hasn’t been too great either due to the very un-Christian content of a great many of their songs and/or their ignorance of high school science classes. The backlash amongst the science and/or non-religious community has been spilling out because of just how stupidly ignorant of basic scientific principles ICP are (and this moves beyond the usual religious based denial of evolutionary theory).

Perhaps the worse part about ICP’s ignorance of science is that they don’t even want to know how various theories work. Even the Vatican is willing to accept some scientific principles, and I’m pretty sure the RCC has no problems with understanding how magnetism is possible.

Yet their ignorance is still not the worst part of the entire “coming out”. If they’re Christians, how can they possibly write and rap lyrics such as this section from The Dating Game:

CONTESTANT NUMBER 1

Let’s see hmmm, well, I’d have to think about it
I might show up in a tux, HA!, but I doubt it
I’d probably just show up naked like I always do
And look your momma in the eye and tell her, FUCK YOU!!!
Hurry up bitch, I’m hungry, I smell spaghetti
I’d pinch her lupy ass and tell her, Get the food ready!
Your dad would probably start tripping and get me pissed
I’d have to walk up and bust him in his fucking lips!
It’s dinner time, we hearing grace from your mother
I pull a forty out and pour some for your little brother
I’m steady staring at your sister, I’ll tell you this
For only 13, she got some big tits
After that, your dad will probably jump again
But only this time, I’d put the forty to his chin
After your mom does the dishes and the silverware
I’d dry-fuck her till I nut in my underwear

Back to the Guardian interview. When the interviewer asks if the kinds of characters that are portrayed in ICP’s songs (like the one above) are ones their fans should try to be or not, ICP fail to see not only how they seem to condone domestic violence and hatred towards women, but that that kind of behaviour is definitely not condoned by most Christian denominations. Violent J just claims lyrics like that are “Jokes”, and yet somehow most people cannot see their funny side.

Y’know what: neither can I.

2 thoughts on “Step away from the microphone

  1. They fail.

    They failed at being Christian and they failed at even trying to understand how things work.

    If ignorance is bliss, these guys couldn’t be happier even on morphine.

    Oh, and how does two people constitute a “posse”? Well, at least they’re first two words are right – insane and clown (only but the fact that they’re so laughable).

Leave a Reply

